The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)

From the smallest beginnings come the greatest legends.

  • Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Action
  • Release Date: 2012-11-26
  • User Rating: 7.313/10 from 16163 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: WingNut Films
  • Production Country: New Zealand, United States of America
  • Director: Peter Jackson
star 7.313/10
From 16,163 Ratings


Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit enjoying his quiet life, is swept into an epic quest by Gandalf the Grey and thirteen dwarves who seek to reclaim their mountain home from Smaug, the dragon.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Trailer

Is The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey on HBO Max?

Unfortunately the movie The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is not yet available on HBO Max.

  • Ian McKellen

    as Gandalf
  • Martin Freeman

    as Bilbo Baggins
  • Richard Armitage

    as Thorin
  • James Nesbitt

    as Bofur
  • Ken Stott

    as Balin
  • Sylvester McCoy

    as Radagast
  • Barry Humphries

    as Great Goblin
  • Cate Blanchett

    as Galadriel
  • Ian Holm

    as Old Bilbo
  • Christopher Lee

    as Saruman
  • Hugo Weaving

    as Elrond
  • Elijah Wood

    as Frodo
  • Andy Serkis

    as Gollum
  • Aidan Turner

    as Kili
  • Dean O'Gorman

    as Fili
  • Graham McTavish

    as Dwalin
  • Adam Brown

    as Ori
  • Peter Hambleton

    as Gloin / William Troll
  • John Callen

    as Oin
  • Mark Hadlow

    as Dori / Bert Troll
  • Jed Brophy

    as Nori
  • William Kircher

    as Bifur / Tom Troll
  • Stephen Hunter

    as Bombur
  • Lee Pace

    as Thranduil
  • Benedict Cumberbatch

    as Necromancer
  • Manu Bennett

    as Azog
  • Conan Stevens

    as Bolg
  • Jeffrey Thomas

    as Thror
  • Michael Mizrahi

    as Thrain
  • John Rawls

    as Yazneg
  • Stephen Ure

    as Fimbul / Grinnah
  • Luke Evans

    as Girion (Extended Edition)
  • Dan Hennah

    as Old Took (Extended Edition)
  • Stephen Gledhill

    as Old Gammidge (Extended Edition)
  • Tim Gordon

    as Old Hob (Extended Edition)
  • Sonia Forbes Adam

    as Belladonna Took (Extended Edition)
  • Oscar Strik

    as Little Bilbo (Extended Edition)
  • Timothy Bartlett

    as Master Worrywort
  • Erin Banks

    as Lobelia Sackville Baggins (Extended Edition)
  • Brian Hotter

    as Otho Sackville Baggins (Extended Edition)
  • Eric Vespe

    as Fredegar Chubb (Extended Edition)
  • Mervyn Smith

    as Tosser Grubb (Extended Edition)
  • Bret McKenzie

    as Lindir
  • Kiran Shah

    as Goblin Scribe
  • Glenn Boswell

    as Dwarf Miner
  • Thomas Robins

    as Young Thrain
  • Ruby Acevedo

    as Cute Young Hobbit
  • Katie Jackson

    as Cute Young Hobbit
  • Isaac Miller

    as Cute Young Hobbit
  • Ella Olssen

    as Cute Young Hobbit
  • Louis Ashbourne Serkis

    as Cute Young Hobbit
  • Ruby Ashbourne Serkis

    as Cute Young Hobbit
  • Sonny Ashbourne Serkis

    as Cute Young Hobbit
  • Peter Jackson

    as Running Dwarf in Erebor (uncredited)
  • Terry Notary

    as Great Goblin / Yazneg (uncredited)
Sound Howard Shore Original Music Composer
Sound Christopher Boyes Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Writing Peter Jackson Screenplay
Directing Peter Jackson Director
Production Peter Jackson Producer
Writing J.R.R. Tolkien Novel
Writing Fran Walsh Screenplay
Production Fran Walsh Producer
Writing Philippa Boyens Screenplay
Production Philippa Boyens Co-Producer
Camera Andrew Lesnie Director of Photography
Art Alan Lee Conceptual Design
Art John Howe Conceptual Design
Costume & Make-Up Richard Taylor Costume Design
Crew Richard Taylor Armorer
Visual Effects Richard Taylor Creature Technical Director
Costume & Make-Up Richard Taylor Special Effects Key Makeup Artist
Crew Richard Taylor Weapons Master
Production Victoria Burrows Casting
Production John Hubbard Casting
Production Liz Mullane Casting
Directing Andy Serkis Second Unit Director
Art Dan Hennah Production Design
Art Dan Hennah Set Decoration
Editing Jabez Olssen Editor
Sound Brent Burge Supervising Sound Editor
Sound David Farmer Sound Designer
Production Carolynne Cunningham Producer
Directing Carolynne Cunningham First Assistant Director
Writing Guillermo del Toro Screenplay
Art Mike Mignola Conceptual Illustrator
Production Toby Emmerich Executive Producer
Art Simon Bright Set Decoration
Art Simon Bright Supervising Art Director
Costume & Make-Up Peter Swords King Makeup & Hair
Costume & Make-Up Rick Findlater Makeup Department Head
Production Scot Boland Casting
Production Zane Weiner Producer
Production Zane Weiner Unit Production Manager
Production Ann Robinson Casting
Production Ken Kamins Executive Producer
Art Andy McLaren Art Direction
Sound Tony Johnson Sound Mixer
Crew Tim McLachlan Stunts
Sound Neil Finn Vocals
Production Alan Horn Executive Producer
Production Amy Hubbard Casting
Production Miranda Rivers Casting
Costume & Make-Up Ann Maskrey Costume Design
Art Warren Mahy Storyboard Artist
Crew Steven A. Davis Stunts
Production Carolyn Blackwood Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Bob Buck Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Paula Ryan Costume Supervisor
Sound Michael Semanick Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects R. Christopher White Visual Effects Supervisor
Camera James H. Fisher Still Photographer
Production Brigitte Yorke Unit Production Manager
Visual Effects Eric Saindon Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound Dave Whitehead Sound Designer
Sound Michael Hedges Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Ra Vincent Set Decoration
Visual Effects Joe Letteri Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Christian Rivers Visual Effects Designer
Sound Justin Webster Sound Effects Editor
Sound Chris Ward Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Hayden Collow Sound Effects Editor
Sound Melanie Graham Sound Effects Editor
Crew Sean Button Stunts
Art Paul Tobin Conceptual Design
Production Eileen Moran Co-Producer
Visual Effects Matt Weaver VFX Artist
Costume & Make-Up Flora Moody Makeup & Hair
Costume & Make-Up Michele Barber Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Catherine Maguire Makeup Artist
Art Isadore William Crooks Set Designer
Art Richard Wiles Set Designer
Sound Jason Canovas Supervising Dialogue Editor
Visual Effects Anna-Louise Gordon Visual Effects Producer
Camera Mark Pokorny Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Sally Gray Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Charlotte Hayes Costume Standby
Directing Victoria Sullivan Script Supervisor
Sound Karen Elliott Music Supervisor
Camera Todd Eyre Still Photographer
Camera Nels Isrealson Still Photographer
Production Helene Takacs Production Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Angela Mooar Key Hair Stylist
Crew Min Windle Stunts
Costume & Make-Up Tami Lane Prosthetic Supervisor
Crew Genevieve Aitken Stunts
Crew Morgan Evans Stunts
Crew Mana Hira Davis Stunts
Directing Guy Campbell Second Assistant Director
Production Matt Dravitzki Associate Producer
Crew Mark Trotter Stunts
Crew Gemma Weston Stunts
Visual Effects David Clayton Animation Supervisor
Art Daniel Falconer Sculptor
Crew Rosalie van Horik Stunts
Crew Michael Homick Stunt Double
Production Amanda Walker Associate Producer
Crew Tom Cotton Stunts
Visual Effects Graham Binding Senior Animator
Crew Laura Matthews Stunts
Crew Ingrid Kleinig Stunts
Art Ronan Binding Painter
Crew Bernadette Van Gyen Stunts
Directing Carolina Jiménez Layout
Costume & Make-Up Natalie Crane Other
Crew Leith MacPherson Dialect Coach
Art Steven Saunders Sculptor