Searching for Sugar Man

Searching for Sugar Man (2012)

Great Art Always Survives

  • Genre: Music, Documentary
  • Release Date: 2012-06-30
  • User Rating: 7.887/10 from 889 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 25min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Passion Pictures
  • Production Country: Finland, South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director: Malik Bendjelloul
star 7.887/10
From 889 Ratings


Two South Africans set out to discover what happened to their unlikely musical hero, the mysterious 1970s rock 'n' roller, Rodriguez.

Searching for Sugar Man Trailer

Is Searching for Sugar Man on HBO Max?

Unfortunately the movie Searching for Sugar Man is not yet available on HBO Max.

  • Stephen Segerman

    as Self
  • Rodriguez

    as Self
  • Regan Rodriguez

    as Self
  • Eva Rodriguez

    as Self
  • Mike Theodore

    as Self
  • Dennis Coffey

    as Self
  • Sandra Rodriguez-Kennedy

    as Self
  • Clarence Avant

    as Self
  • Steve Rowland

    as Self
  • Malik Bendjelloul

    as Self (uncredited)
  • Dan DiMaggio

    as Self
  • Jerome Ferretti

    as Self
  • Willem Möller

    as Self
  • Craig Bartholomew Strydom

    as Self
  • Ilse Assmann

    as Self
  • Steve M. Harris

    as Self
  • Robbie Mann

    as Self
  • Rick Emmerson

    as Self
  • Rian Malan

    as Self
Directing Malik Bendjelloul Director
Production Simon Chinn Producer
Production George Chignell Co-Producer
Writing Malik Bendjelloul Writer
Camera Camilla Skagerström Director of Photography
Editing Malik Bendjelloul Editor
Production Malik Bendjelloul Producer
Production Hjalmar Palmgren Executive Producer
Production Sheryl Crown Executive Producer
Production Maggie Monteith Executive Producer
Production John Battsek Executive Producer
Production Andrew Ruhemann Executive Producer
Production Malla Grapengiesser Co-Producer
Production Nicole Stott Co-Producer
Sound Per Nyström Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Rodriguez Songs
Sound Fredrik Jonsäter Sound Editor
Writing Stephen Segerman Story
Writing Craig Bartholomew Strydom Story
Production Peter Schildt Consulting Producer
Crew Fredrik Zander Post Production Supervisor
Sound Sandy Wilson Music Supervisor
Crew Christian Christensen Thanks
Camera Malik Bendjelloul Additional Camera
Editing Bernhard Winkler Additional Editing
Crew Anneli Oscarsson Post Production Supervisor
Crew Robert Weil Thanks